Centenary of the CCF

Colston’s CCF celebrates its centenary in 2015. Sgt Richard Cain the CCF’s SSI is keen to gather some memorabilia about the CCF.

If you have any memorabilia about the CCF that you are willing to share please email me at martintayler@colstons.bristol.sch.uk. Copies of images (preferably digitalised), information and stories would be very helpful.

I am also keen to put together a record of who has served in the armed forces. If you have been a member or are currently a member of the armed forces could you please let me know about your service? Indeed, if you know of others too that would be helpful.

To get the ball rolling our oldest OC John Modern has sent me his memories of the CCF:

Colston`s School Cadet Corps

1927 to 1930

By J C Moden

With my parents approval I joined the Cadet Corps at the start of my second year at Colston’s.   The charge was 7s 6p per term.   There was an additional charge if you went to summer camp but this I did not do.

On joining you were given a uniform (including puttees) and a rifle.   The puttees took quite a bit of mastering – they had to be put on level but with even spacing and secure enough to withstand a lengthy drill period.

These rifles were for drill purposes only – they were never fired.   But we were taught to clean and oil them and the use of a pull-through.     They were kept in the Armoury, which was somewhere near the Gymnasium.   We were taught to fire on the rifle-range (somewhere down near the swimming pool) – I attended this twice in my time with the Corps.

Most of our time was spend practising drill and, in my opinion, we became very good at it – marching in step and in line, order, slope and present arms.

Major Beckett had a great `presence` on parade and the Corps owed almost everything to him although he was assisted by the School Sergeant (Higgins).

The Corps was attached in some way to the Gloucester Regiment and on one occasion we were inspected by one of their Officers.   This was quite a formal inspection with Major Beckett leading the march past – quite like `Trooping the Colour`. (Which I always enjoy watching)

I should also mention the Corps Bugle Band – Sergeant Higgins plus one or two other boys taught to play the bugle by him.

What I learned at Colston’s about army drill was sufficient to see me through my wartime stint.   But then, what really matters in wartime is not drill but knowing your job.

 

JCM

November 2014

Leave a comment